Vingegaard wins the last stage, Roglic wins the general classification

Mathieu WARNIER, Media365, published on Sunday June 12, 2022 at 5:02 p.m.

Undoubtedly stronger than Primoz Roglic on the slopes of the Plateau de Solaison, Jonas Vingegaard won the last stage of the Critérium du Dauphiné ahead of the Slovenian, who brought the yellow jersey home.

The Jumbo-Visma team finishes the Critérium du Dauphiné in apotheosis! The day after Primoz Roglic took over in the general classification, the Slovenian left the honors of the stage victory to Jonas Vingegaard at the top of the Plateau de Solaison to conclude the week. Launched on the slopes of the Col de Plainpalais, this last stage was very quickly animated with a group of about fifteen riders who obtained the support of the peloton to take off. We notably found there Pierre Rolland, George Bennett, Jan Hirt or even Franck Bonnamour. According to the attacks, the composition of the race leader evolved but then stabilized at fourteen riders. In the descent of the first difficulty of the day, Gorka Izagirre was able to get out of the peloton but needed about ten kilometers to make the junction at the foot of the Col de Leschaux. Wearing the leader’s blue jersey with white dots in the mountain classification, Pierre Rolland made it a point of honor to take as many points as possible at the top of these two difficulties.

Hirt tried his luck

After a long transition phase during which the peloton led by the Jumbo-Visma team never left the breakaway more than two and a half minutes, the slopes of the Col de la Colombière saw the leading group wither . Only Michael Storer, Eddie Dunbar, Kenny Elissonde and George Bennett held on but then they saw Laurens De Plus and Jan Hirt come back as the summit approached. The Belgian then tried to go downhill but was caught at the foot of the Plateau de Solaison, justice of the peace of this Critérium du Dauphiné. Indeed, Eddie Dunbar and Michael Storer were able to make the junction before the road reared. In the peloton, Wout Van Aert was put to work but the bearer of the green jersey in the points classification cut his effort at the foot of the last difficulty of the day, handing over to Steven Kruijswijk. Up front, Jan Hirt didn’t wait long before attacking to isolate himself at the head of the race when what was left of the peloton was able to come back to a minute.

Vingegaard was stronger than Roglic

The tempo imposed by the Jumbo-Visma team gradually melted the group of favorites, with Wilco Kelderman, David Gaudu or between Tobias Halland Johannessen who let go. At the forefront, after returning to Michael Storer and Jan Hirt, George Bennett found himself alone in the lead but he did not resist the return of his former teammates for long. Indeed, taking over from Steven Kruijswijk, Jonas Vingegaard blasted Primoz Roglic’s rivals one by one and, in the last two kilometers, the Dane had to measure his pace so as not to outrun his leader. As if to reward him for his efforts, Primoz Roglic left the victory to Jonas Vingegaard in this last stage when the Slovenian made sure to win the general classification for the first time ahead of his teammate and Ben O’Connor, who was the last to resist the Jumbo-Visma duo. While Warren Barguil finished first in France on the stage with 15th place, it was David Gaudu who took on this role overall with 17th position.

8th stage – Saint-Alban-Leysse-Plateau de Solaison (137.5km) – Sunday June 12, 2022
1- Jonas Vingegaard (DAN / Jumbo-Visma) in 3h49’20”
2- Primoz Roglic (SLO/Jumbo-Visma) mt
3- Ben O’Connor (AUS/AG2R-Citroën) at 15”
4- Esteban Chaves (COL/EF Education-Easypost) at 53”
5- Ruben Guerreiro (POR/EF Education-Easypost) at 53”
6- Damiano Caruso (ITA/Bahrain Victorious) at 55”
7- Louis Meintjes (AFS/Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux) at 55”
8- Jack Haig (AUS/Bahrain Victorious) at 55”
9- Steven Kuijswijk (PBS/Jumbo-Visma) at 1’20”
10- Tobias Halland Johannessen (NOR/Uno-X) at 1’40”

15- Warren Barguil (FRA / Arkéa-Samsic) at 3’03”

Final general classification
1- Primoz Roglic (SLO / Jumbo-Visma) in 29h11’22”
2- Jonas Vingegaard (DAN/Jumbo-Visma) at 40”
3- Ben O’Connor (AUS / AG2R-Citroën) at 1’41”
4- Damiano Caruso (ITA/Bahrain Victorious) at 2’33”
5- Jack Haig (AUS/Bahrain Victorious) at 3’13”
6- Louis Meintjes (AFS / Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Materials) at 3’17”
7- Esteban Chaves (COL/EF Education-Easypost) at 3’18”
8- Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBR / Ineos Grenadiers) at 3’44”
9- Ruben Guerreiro (POR / EF Education-Easypost) at 3’48”
10- Tobias Halland Johannessen (NOR/Uno-X) at 3’51”

17- David Gaudu (FRA / Groupama-FDJ) at 9’13”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *