Rafael Nadal, winner of Ruud in the final, wins his 14th Roland-Garros

Rafael Nadal, winner of Ruud in the final, wins his 14th Roland-Garros

ROLAND GARROS. Rafael Nadal made short work of Casper Ruud in the final (6-3, 6-3, 6-0), this Sunday, June 5, to win his 14th trophy at Roland-Garros and his 22nd Grand Slam title . Find the summary of this final.

The essential

  • This Sunday, June 5, Rafael Nadal won his 14th title at Roland-Garros by beating the Norwegian Casper Ruud (6-3, 6-3, 6-0 in 2h18). This is the 22nd Grand Slam title for the Spaniard.
  • This Saturday, June 4, the world number 1 Iga Swiatek gave a tennis lesson to the young American Coco Gauff to sign her 35th victory in a row (6-1 6-3 in 1h08 ‘) and win her second Grand Slam title, the second at Roland-Garros after 2020.
  • Follow Roland-Garros throughout the fortnight on our page with commented matches, score changes and all the results of the French Open tennis tournament.


21:39 – Biarrots test

After half an hour of play, the BO scored their first try of the game, thanks to Hirigoyen who rewarded a good period for Baptiste Couilloud’s teammates. The transformation passes.

17:56 – Nadal did not mention a possible retirement

After long thanks, Rafael Nadal did not announce a possible retirement, during the last words of his speech. “I don’t know what will happen in the future, but I will continue to fight” he said before returning the microphone. No “see you next year” therefore, but the Spaniard will certainly do everything to lift the cup of the Musketeers again.

17:48 – Rafael Nadal in turn receives his trophy

It is now up to the winner of the day, Rafael Nadal to receive, for the 14th time, the Mousquetaires Cup on the Philippe-Chatrier court. His speech is also eagerly awaited, with the rumors of retirement surrounding “Rafa”…

Learn more

Follow all the main results of the French Open tennis tournament with the men’s table and the women’s table below:

Completed matches

At Roland Garros, the official program for each day, available on the official website, can sometimes be turned upside down. Indeed, if the schedule for the start of the day is quite clear, it is very difficult to count on the exact time of the end of the matches. The main constraints for the organizers: the weather and the time of sunset. In fact, only the Philippe-Chatrier court has a retractable roof and can host matches at night. The other courts do not have lighting. The program for Sunday June 5:

  • Court Philippe Chatrier
  • Not before 3:00 p.m.: Nadal (ESP – 5) – Ruud (NOR – 8)

Here are the details of the meetings for this Roland Garros 2022 with the matches of the top seeds as well as the French men and women for the first round of the French Open:

Table men

Table women

This Roland-Garros 2022 begins with the main draw matches on Sunday May 22. The date of the men’s final, which traditionally closes the fortnight, is set for Sunday June 5, 2022.

The Roland Garros ticketing system (see the official website) for the 2022 edition has been revised. The objective of the organizers is to fill the courts “to full capacity”. For this, access to the stands has been reworked with the sale of 1,500 “annex-up” tickets which will allow ticket holders to attend matches on the annex courts but also to fill the boxes of the central court Philippe Chatrier , in case of low attendance. Often empty, the presidential stand will experience change in this 2022 edition. The organizers will give the possibility to club volunteers to be able to attend the matches from this stand, by inviting them regularly.

For the second consecutive year, tickets at €10 for young people under 25 will be on sale. Also note that in addition to the qualifying matches and the main tournament matches, other types of tickets are available for peripheral events: Children’s Day, the Legends Trophy… It is also possible to obtain tickets when arriving at the end of the day thanks to the Evening Visitors offer. Finally, the organizers offer Weekend Passes, Semi-final Passes or Final Passes.

The global allocation for Roland-Garros is known. In 2022, this will amount to 43.6 million euros, i.e. 7% more than in 2019. 2.2 million euros are promised to the winners of the singles tables. The organizers had promised to make an effort in the allocations for the qualified and eliminated from the first round. Something done for players who have not passed the qualifications with a 66% increase in the allocation allocated to the qualifications compared to 2019 and 30% compared to 2021.

In a press release, the French Tennis Federation indicates that “the increase in the allocation for the 1st round of the singles draw and qualifications makes it possible to support the populations of players who have suffered the most from the health crisis in recent years.”

Roland Garros has been broadcast for many years by public service channels and Eurosport, but there have been changes since last year. Exit Eurosport: the broadcasting rights of the competition are now shared between France TV and Amazon Prime (subscribe to Amazon Prime Video), the video on demand service, which offers evening matches and those played on the Simonne-Mathieu court. The semi-finals and finals are co-broadcast.

Here is the list of winners of the French Open at Roland-Garros since the Open era

  • 1968: Ken Rosewall
  • 1969: Rod Laver
  • 1970: Jan Kodes
  • 1971: Jan Kodes
  • 1972: Andres Gimeno
  • 1973: Ilies Nastase
  • 1974: Bjorn Borg
  • 1975: Bjorn Borg
  • 1976: Adriano Panatta
  • 1977: Guillermo Villas
  • 1978: Bjorn Borg
  • 1979: Bjorn Borg
  • 1980: Bjorn Borg
  • 1981: Bjorn Borg
  • 1982: Mats Wilander
  • 1983: Yannick Noah
  • 1984: Ivan Lendl
  • 1985: Mats Wilander
  • 1986: Ivan Lendl
  • 1987: Ivan Lendl
  • 1988: Mats Wilander
  • 1989: Michael Chang
  • 1990: Andres Gomez
  • 1991: Jim Courier
  • 1992: Jim Courier
  • 1993: Sergi Bruguera
  • 1994: Sergi Bruguera
  • 1995: Thomas Muster
  • 1996: Yevgeny Kafelnikov
  • 1997: Gustavo Kuerten
  • 1998: Carlos Moya
  • 1999: Andre Agassi
  • 2000: Gustavo Kuerten
  • 2001: Gustavo Kuerten
  • 2002: Albert Costa
  • 2003: Juan Carlos Ferrero
  • 2004: Gaston Gaudio
  • 2005: Rafael Nadal
  • 2006: Rafael Nadal
  • 2007: Rafael Nadal
  • 2008: Rafael Nadal
  • 2009: Roger Federer
  • 2010: Rafael Nadal
  • 2011: Rafael Nadal
  • 2012: Rafael Nadal
  • 2013: Rafael Nadal
  • 2014: Rafael Nadal
  • 2015: Stan Wawrinka
  • 2016: Novak Djokovic
  • 2017: Rafael Nadal
  • 2018: Rafael Nadal
  • 2019: Rafael Nadal
  • 2020: Rafael Nadal
  • 2021: Novak Djokovic

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *